Blue Reacher vs MessageBlue

Compare Blue Reacher and MessageBlue side by side: iMessage features, channels, developer tools, pricing and compliance, checked on each provider's own site.

Blue Reacher

Managed iMessage lines for B2B sales, with API and MCP
Starting price
$199/month per line at 4+ lines; $249/month for 1 to 3 lines
Free plan
Free public sandbox key; simulator only, no real sends

MessageBlue

iMessage API for agents, with bring-your-own-number
Starting price
$100/month per line
Free plan
$0 with your own number and Mac, all features, limited seats

Blue Reacher supports 50 of the 77 features compared here, and MessageBlue supports 38.

Feature comparison

FeatureBlue ReacherMessageBlue
iMessage messaging
iMessage
SupportedOne-to-one iMessage sends and replies over REST and webhooks.
Supported
Group chats
PartialAPI docs (22 Oct 2026) say not available yet; the site sells group threads opened from the CRM.
SupportedSend text, attachments and voice notes to groups; receive group messages.
Group management
PartialAdd, remove and leave are documented, but aPI docs (22 Oct 2026) say not available yet.
PartialCreate groups of 2 to 31 by API; no add or remove participant endpoints.
Group name and photo
PartialRename and group photo are documented, but aPI docs (22 Oct 2026) say not available yet.
Not listed
Mentions
Not listed
Not listed
Tapbacks
PartialInbound reactions arrive as webhooks; sending the six tapbacks is not available on the API yet.
SupportedSend or remove emoji or tapbacks; inbound tapbacks arrive by webhook.
Threaded replies
PartialSite lists threaded replies; the API reply option sends a quoted reply, not an inline thread.
Not listed
Typing indicators
PartialTyping endpoint is documented, but aPI docs (22 Oct 2026) say not available yet.
SupportedSend and stop, up to 20 seconds; no inbound typing webhook documented.
Read receipts
Partialmessage.read webhooks fire; sending native read receipts is not available on the API yet.
SupportedSend read receipts; outbound messages report a read status.
Edit and unsend
Not listed
Not listed
Message effects
Partial8 screen and 4 bubble effects are documented, but aPI docs (22 Oct 2026) say not available yet.
Not listed
Animated text effects
Not listed
Not listed
Stickers
Not listed
Not listed
Formatted text
Not supportedDocs say there is no Markdown rendering on any channel.
Not listed
Attachments
SupportedOne file per message for now. Images and video up to 100 MB, audio and PDF up to 25 MB.
SupportedAttachments by public URL.
Live Photos
Not listed
Not listed
Rich link previews
SupportedA bare URL renders as a preview card on iMessage, built on the recipient's device.
Not listed
Voice messages
PartialNative voice memo endpoint is documented, but aPI docs (22 Oct 2026) say not available yet.
SupportedTo individuals and groups.
Contact cards
PartialDocs and site say lines send contact cards; no endpoint appears in the API reference.
Not listed
Polls
Not listed
Not listed
Chat backgrounds
Not listed
Not listed
Location sharing
Not listed
Not listed
iMessage apps
Not listed
Not listed
Live app cards
Not listed
Not listed
Sender name and photo
Not listedDocs say recipients see only the number until they save your contact card.
Not listed
FaceTime calls
PartialFaceTime audio from the line, started by a person; $99/mo add-on. Calls API not available yet.
Not listedInbox video call button is marked coming soon; voice calls need the team to enable.
Delivery status
Supportedmessage.sent, delivered, read and failed webhooks, plus a status endpoint.
Supportedsent, delivered, read, SMS_FALLBACK and failed via status webhook.
iMessage availability check
PartialCapability lookup for up to 100 numbers is documented, but aPI docs (22 Oct 2026) say not available yet.
SupportedCheck a number, or a whole group's participants, before sending.
Focus and Notify Anyway
Not listed
Not listed
Numbers and delivery
Managed lines
SupportedEach line is an Apple ID on Apple hardware run by Blue Reacher.
SupportedRequest a number and the team provisions it, typically in 3 to 5 business days.
Dedicated numbers
SupportedEvery line is a dedicated number with a custom area code.
Supported$100/mo per line on Startups & SMB.
Shared numbers
Not supportedDocs say each line is yours alone, never shared and never recycled.
Not listed
Bring your own number
SupportedPricing lists port-in support for an existing number.
SupportedPair your own Mac and its Apple ID number with the MessageBlue agent.
Line pooling
SupportedOmit the line on a send and load balancing picks one; the site calls it smart routing.
SupportedAssigns the least-mapped number per contact and remaps contacts if a number is blocked.
SMS fallback
Supported
SupportedStatus event reports SMS_FALLBACK; not available for group creation.
RCS fallback
PartialSite says iMessage, then RCS, then SMS; the docs say the platform's own fallback is SMS.
Not listedMarketing pages say SMS or RCS fallback; docs only describe SMS.
Outbound-first messaging
SupportedCold outreach allowed: 30 cold or 50 opted-in new contacts a day per warmed line.
SupportedStart chats with any iMessage-capable number; warns after 5 unanswered messages.
Calls on the iMessage number
PartialFaceTime audio from the same line. Phone calls need your own provider using the number as caller ID.
Not listedInbox voice call button says to contact the team; number used is not stated.
Other channels
SMS
PartialOnly as automatic fallback from the same line.
PartialOnly as fallback; new chats need an iMessage-capable recipient.
RCS
PartialSite lists RCS fallback; the docs say messages deliver over iMessage or SMS.
Not listedMentioned only as a fallback on marketing pages.
WhatsApp
Not supportedNot offered
Not supportedNot offered
Telegram
Not supported
Not supported
Slack
Not supportedNot offered as a channel; a Slack guide forwards replies into Slack.
Not supported
Email
Not supportedNot offered. Docs say there is no email-address sender option.
Not supported
Phone calls
PartialDocs cover FaceTime audio only; the pricing page lists 2-way calling with SIP routing.
Not listedInbox voice call button says to contact the team; call type and number not stated.
Apple Messages for Business
Not supportedNot offered; the site describes it as a separate Apple product.
Not supportedNot offered
Unified channel API
SupportediMessage and SMS fallback share one send endpoint and message model.
PartialOne API for iMessage and its SMS fallback only.
Developer tools
REST API
Supported
SupportedOpenAPI 3.1 spec published.
TypeScript SDK
Supportednpm package bluereacher, v0.1.0 (Sept 2026), MIT.
Supportednpm messageblue (0.0.7), generated from the OpenAPI spec.
Python SDK
SupportedPyPI package bluereacher, v0.1.0 (Sept 2026), MIT.
Not supportedDocs say only TypeScript is published today; other languages on request.
Other SDKs
Not supportedDocs suggest generating Go, Java, Ruby or PHP clients from the OpenAPI spec.
Not supported
CLI
Supportedbluereacher-cli on npm: send, status, conversations and capability checks.
Not listedThe API page mentions a CLI, but none is documented.
Webhooks
Supported
SupportedInbound and status URLs with retries and dead-lettering.
Signed webhooks
SupportedHMAC-SHA256 in X-BlueReacher-Signature.
SupportedX-MB-Signature: HMAC-SHA256 over timestamp and raw body.
MCP server
SupportedHosted MCP server at api.bluereacher.com/v1/mcp; works with sandbox keys.
PartialDocumentation-only MCP server at docs.messageblue.ai/_mcp/server.
Open source
PartialSDKs, CLI, a stdio MCP server and an n8n node are MIT on GitHub. The platform is closed.
Not listed
Self-hosting
Not listed
SupportedEnterprise plan: your cloud (BYOC), VPC or on-prem
Local testing
SupportedPublic sandbox key runs the API and MCP against a simulator, with simulated inbound replies.
PartialBrowser test bench runs the no-code agent without sending an iMessage.
Custom channel providers
Not listed
Not listed
Event replay
PartialRetries for about a day; undelivered events are kept and support replays them on request.
SupportedFailed and dead-lettered deliveries are kept and can be replayed.
OpenTelemetry
Not listed
Not listed
No-code integrations
SupportedNative GoHighLevel, plus Zapier, Make and n8n guides and an n8n community node.
SupportedZapier, plus a no-code agent builder.
CRM integrations
SupportedNative HubSpot, Salesforce, Close, Pipedrive, Follow Up Boss and Jobber (beta).
SupportedAgent connects to Salesforce, HubSpot and others; HubSpot inbox sync is private beta.
Built for AI agents
Agent framework
PartialBuilt-in AI reply assistant on your own model key, with per-contact controls. No agent SDK.
SupportedNo-code agent with model choice, prompt, knowledge, tools, memory and multi-step tasks.
Agent framework integrations
PartialGuide pages for LangChain and the Vercel AI SDK that wrap the API as a tool.
Not listedSite says it works with LangChain and the Vercel AI SDK via webhooks; no official integration.
Streaming replies
Not listed
Not listed
Agent group chats
Not listed
Not listed
Human handoff
SupportedPause or snooze the AI assistant per contact while a person replies.
SupportedTeam inbox for manual replies; pause the agent or block it per contact.
Audit logs
PartialDocs mention an exportable opt-out audit trail; no general activity log is documented.
SupportedOn the Business and Enterprise plans
Message history API
SupportedConversation history per contact, cursor-paginated.
SupportedConversation by phone number.
Plans and compliance
Free plan
SupportedFree public sandbox key; simulator only, no real messages sent.
Supported$0 when you bring your own number on your own Mac; every feature included.
Public pricing
Supported
SupportedFree and $100/mo listed; Business and Enterprise are contact sales.
No per-message fees
Supported
SupportedFlat $100/mo per line.
Uptime SLA
Not listed
Supported99.9% SLA listed from the $100 plan; the API page says enterprise plans
Isolated infrastructure
SupportedDedicated lines per customer, never shared; workspaces logically isolated.
SupportedEnterprise plan: single-tenant or self-hosted stack
SOC 2 Type II
Not supportedTrust page says controls map to SOC 2 but the independent attestation is not complete.
PartialEnterprise page claims audited SOC 2 Type II; pricing says SOC 2 ready; no report found.
GDPR
SupportedGDPR page and a published DPA with Standard Contractual Clauses.
Not listed

Checked on each provider's own site and docs on 2026-10-25. “Not listed” means the provider does not mention it.

Pricing

Blue Reacher

Lines are $249 a month each plus a $449 activation fee, $199 a month each at 4 or more lines, or $1,949 per line per year with activation waived.

Pricing model: flat per line, no per-message fees

Source

MessageBlue

Free when you bring your own number on your own Mac; a dedicated line is $100 a month on Startups & SMB, and Business and Enterprise are contact sales.

Pricing model: flat per line

Source

Which should you choose?

Choose Blue Reacher if you need group name and photo, threaded replies, message effects and rich link previews.

Choose MessageBlue if you need self-hosting, uptime SLA and SOC 2 Type II.

Frequently asked questions