MessageBlue vs Tuco AI

Compare MessageBlue and Tuco AI side by side: iMessage features, channels, developer tools, pricing and compliance, checked on each provider's own site.

MessageBlue

iMessage API for agents, with bring-your-own-number
Starting price
$100/month per line
Free plan
$0 with your own number and Mac, all features, limited seats

Tuco AI

iMessage follow-up for opted-in leads from your CRM
Starting price
$149/month (Starter, 1 line) plus $335 setup
Free plan
None; docs say no free trials or refunds

MessageBlue supports 38 of the 77 features compared here, and Tuco AI supports 41.

Feature comparison

FeatureMessageBlueTuco AI
iMessage messaging
iMessage
Supported
Supported
Group chats
SupportedSend text, attachments and voice notes to groups; receive group messages.
Not supportedTuco's llms.txt says it has no group chats.
Group management
PartialCreate groups of 2 to 31 by API; no add or remove participant endpoints.
Not supportedNo group chat support
Group name and photo
Not listed
Not supported
Mentions
Not listed
Not supported
Tapbacks
SupportedSend or remove emoji or tapbacks; inbound tapbacks arrive by webhook.
SupportedSend six classic tapbacks by API; inbound reactions, including custom emoji, arrive as message.reaction.
Threaded replies
Not listed
Not listed
Typing indicators
SupportedSend and stop, up to 20 seconds; no inbound typing webhook documented.
PartialStart and stop typing by API, best effort. Inbound typing events not documented.
Read receipts
SupportedSend read receipts; outbound messages report a read status.
Supportedmessage.opened webhook with readAt when the recipient has read receipts on.
Edit and unsend
Not listed
Not listed
Message effects
Not listed
Not listed
Animated text effects
Not listed
Not listed
Stickers
Not listed
Not listed
Formatted text
Not listed
Not listed
Attachments
SupportedAttachments by public URL.
SupportedUp to 2 files per message, 25 MB each. Not allowed on the first message to a contact.
Live Photos
Not listed
Not listed
Rich link previews
Not listed
Not listed
Voice messages
SupportedTo individuals and groups.
SupportedvoiceNote sends one audio file as a native voice note bubble.
Contact cards
Not listed
Not listed
Polls
Not listed
Not listed
Chat backgrounds
Not listed
Not listed
Location sharing
Not listed
Not listed
iMessage apps
Not listed
Not listed
Live app cards
Not listed
Not listed
Sender name and photo
Not listed
PartialLine name and photo are set by Tuco staff, at most 3 changes per line per month.
FaceTime calls
Not listedInbox video call button is marked coming soon; voice calls need the team to enable.
PartialFaceTime Audio calls as a $100/month per-line add-on. Tuco's llms.txt says it has no FaceTime.
Delivery status
Supportedsent, delivered, read, SMS_FALLBACK and failed via status webhook.
Supportedqueued, sent, delivered, failed and fallback statuses, with sent, failed and fallback webhooks.
iMessage availability check
SupportedCheck a number, or a whole group's participants, before sending.
SupportedSingle, round-robin and bulk checks, about 70 per line per day.
Focus and Notify Anyway
Not listed
Not listed
Numbers and delivery
Managed lines
SupportedRequest a number and the team provisions it, typically in 3 to 5 business days.
SupportedEach line is a real iPhone with an eSIM that Tuco hosts. About 48 hours to activate.
Dedicated numbers
Supported$100/mo per line on Startups & SMB.
SupportedOne Apple identity per line. Lines can be ordered by API.
Shared numbers
Not listed
Not listed
Bring your own number
SupportedPair your own Mac and its Apple ID number with the MessageBlue agent.
PartialDocs say existing numbers cannot be ported in, but a Linq migration page offers to port Linq numbers.
Line pooling
SupportedAssigns the least-mapped number per contact and remaps contacts if a number is blocked.
SupportedSends without fromLineId round-robin across active lines.
SMS fallback
SupportedStatus event reports SMS_FALLBACK; not available for group creation.
PartialThrough your Twilio, GoHighLevel or webhook provider, or P2P SMS from the line once support enables it.
RCS fallback
Not listedMarketing pages say SMS or RCS fallback; docs only describe SMS.
Not supportedRCS not offered
Outbound-first messaging
SupportedStart chats with any iMessage-capable number; warns after 5 unanswered messages.
SupportedOutbound to opted-in contacts. Cold lists are refused, and first messages cannot carry links or files.
Calls on the iMessage number
Not listedInbox voice call button says to contact the team; number used is not stated.
SupportedCalls go out from the same number the line texts from. 500 minutes per line per month included.
Other channels
SMS
PartialOnly as fallback; new chats need an iMessage-capable recipient.
PartialSMS through your own Twilio, GHL or webhook provider, or P2P SMS from the line in its eSIM country.
RCS
Not listedMentioned only as a fallback on marketing pages.
Not supportedNot offered
WhatsApp
Not supportedNot offered
Not supported
Telegram
Not supported
PartialTelegram bot for team notifications and replies. Leads are not messaged on Telegram.
Slack
Not supported
PartialLead conversations appear as Slack threads the team can reply from. Not a channel to contacts.
Email
Not supported
SupportedmessageType email sends email, and an email bridge sends iMessages from your inbox.
Phone calls
Not listedInbox voice call button says to contact the team; call type and number not stated.
SupportedOutbound calls with recording, inbound forwarding and a click-to-call API (beta, +1 numbers only).
Apple Messages for Business
Not supportedNot offered
Not supportedNot offered
Unified channel API
PartialOne API for iMessage and its SMS fallback only.
SupportedOne send endpoint with messageType imessage, sms or email.
Developer tools
REST API
SupportedOpenAPI 3.1 spec published.
Supported
TypeScript SDK
Supportednpm messageblue (0.0.7), generated from the OpenAPI spec.
Not listedThe iMessage API page shows npm install @tuco-ai/sdk, but no such package is on npm.
Python SDK
Not supportedDocs say only TypeScript is published today; other languages on request.
Not listed
Other SDKs
Not supported
Not listed
CLI
Not listedThe API page mentions a CLI, but none is documented.
Not listed
Webhooks
SupportedInbound and status URLs with retries and dead-lettering.
SupportedSent, failed, fallback, opened, reply, reaction, AI draft, handover, call recording and DNC events.
Signed webhooks
SupportedX-MB-Signature: HMAC-SHA256 over timestamp and raw body.
SupportedHMAC-SHA256 in the X-Tuco-Signature header.
MCP server
PartialDocumentation-only MCP server at docs.messageblue.ai/_mcp/server.
Supportedtuco-mcp on npm, run locally with an API key, with about 90 tools.
Open source
Not listed
Partialtuco-mcp is MIT licensed on npm. The platform is closed.
Self-hosting
SupportedEnterprise plan: your cloud (BYOC), VPC or on-prem
Not listedHosted on Tuco hardware. Self-hosting is not mentioned.
Local testing
PartialBrowser test bench runs the no-code agent without sending an iMessage.
PartialSimulate runs a goal bot against a transcript without sending. Message sends have no sandbox.
Custom channel providers
Not listed
PartialSMS fallback can route through your Twilio, GoHighLevel or a custom webhook.
Event replay
SupportedFailed and dead-lettered deliveries are kept and can be replayed.
Supported30-day webhook delivery log with replay from the dashboard or API, plus one automatic retry.
OpenTelemetry
Not listed
Not listed
No-code integrations
SupportedZapier, plus a no-code agent builder.
SupportedGoHighLevel, n8n, Zapier and Make.com.
CRM integrations
SupportedAgent connects to Salesforce, HubSpot and others; HubSpot inbox sync is private beta.
SupportedHubSpot, Salesforce, Close and Pipedrive. One CRM per workspace.
Built for AI agents
Agent framework
SupportedNo-code agent with model choice, prompt, knowledge, tools, memory and multi-step tasks.
SupportedHosted goal bots and Knowledge Base replies with tools, in copilot or autopilot mode.
Agent framework integrations
Not listedSite says it works with LangChain and the Vercel AI SDK via webhooks; no official integration.
Not listed
Streaming replies
Not listed
Not listed
Agent group chats
Not listed
Not supportedNo group chat support
Human handoff
SupportedTeam inbox for manual replies; pause the agent or block it per contact.
SupportedCopilot drafts need approval, and conversation.handover fires when the AI stops for a person.
Audit logs
SupportedOn the Business and Enterprise plans
SupportedActivity log of workspace changes, including MCP tool calls.
Message history API
SupportedConversation by phone number.
SupportedMessage history, conversations and replies endpoints.
Plans and compliance
Free plan
Supported$0 when you bring your own number on your own Mac; every feature included.
Not supportedDocs say there are no free trials, paid pilots or refunds.
Public pricing
SupportedFree and $100/mo listed; Business and Enterprise are contact sales.
SupportedStarter $149/month, Growth $299/month, plus $335 setup per line.
No per-message fees
SupportedFlat $100/mo per line.
SupportedNo per-message fees. AI credits and extra call minutes are billed separately.
Uptime SLA
Supported99.9% SLA listed from the $100 plan; the API page says enterprise plans
Not listedGrowth lists a 4-hour support SLA. No uptime SLA found.
Isolated infrastructure
SupportedEnterprise plan: single-tenant or self-hosted stack
SupportedEach line runs on its own iPhone and Apple ID on dedicated Mac hardware, with no VMs.
SOC 2 Type II
PartialEnterprise page claims audited SOC 2 Type II; pricing says SOC 2 ready; no report found.
Not supportedSecurity page says Tuco does not hold SOC 2.
GDPR
Not listed
SupportedGDPR page with data rights and Standard Contractual Clauses. DPA availability listed.

Checked on each provider's own site and docs on 2026-10-25. “Not listed” means the provider does not mention it.

Pricing

MessageBlue

Free when you bring your own number on your own Mac; a dedicated line is $100 a month on Startups & SMB, and Business and Enterprise are contact sales.

Pricing model: flat per line

Source

Tuco AI

Starter is $149 a month for 1 line and Growth $299 a month for 2 lines, each with a one-time $335 setup fee per line and no per-message fees.

Pricing model: flat per line, plus AI credits and call minute packs

Source

Which should you choose?

Choose MessageBlue if you need group chats, group management, TypeScript SDK and self-hosting.

Choose Tuco AI if you need sender name and photo, FaceTime calls, calls on the iMessage number and Telegram.

Frequently asked questions