Dial vs MessageBlue

Compare Dial and MessageBlue side by side: iMessage features, channels, developer tools, pricing and compliance, checked on each provider's own site.

Dial

Phone numbers with calls, SMS and iMessage for AI agents
Starting price
$3/month per standard number; $250/month per iMessage number
Free plan
$5 free credit, no credit card required

MessageBlue

iMessage API for agents, with bring-your-own-number
Starting price
$100/month per line
Free plan
$0 with your own number and Mac, all features, limited seats

Dial supports 44 of the 77 features compared here, and MessageBlue supports 38.

Feature comparison

FeatureDialMessageBlue
iMessage messaging
iMessage
SupportedNeeds an iMessage number, provisioned through the API. Pay-as-you-go accounts only.
Supported
Group chats
SupportedSend to and read iMessage groups the number was added to. Polls work in groups; replies and reactions do not.
SupportedSend text, attachments and voice notes to groups; receive group messages.
Group management
Not supportedDocs say Dial cannot create a group, join one or accept an invite link.
PartialCreate groups of 2 to 31 by API; no add or remove participant endpoints.
Group name and photo
Not listedGroup names are read live from the line; no way to set a name or photo is documented.
Not listed
Mentions
Not listed
Not listed
Tapbacks
SupportedSix tapback names or any single emoji. Sent only on inbound messages; received on message.received.
SupportedSend or remove emoji or tapbacks; inbound tapbacks arrive by webhook.
Threaded replies
SupportedNative threaded replies to inbound iMessage or RCS messages, one-to-one only.
Not listed
Typing indicators
PartialSend only, one-to-one and in groups. No inbound typing events are documented.
SupportedSend and stop, up to 20 seconds; no inbound typing webhook documented.
Read receipts
PartialReports when recipients read your iMessages. No way to mark inbound messages read.
SupportedSend read receipts; outbound messages report a read status.
Edit and unsend
Not listed
Not listed
Message effects
Not listed
Not listed
Animated text effects
Not listed
Not listed
Stickers
Not listed
Not listed
Formatted text
Not listed
Not listed
Attachments
SupportedOne attachment per iMessage, 5 MB. Images, audio, video, PDF, vCard and iCalendar. No HEIC.
SupportedAttachments by public URL.
Live Photos
Not listed
Not listed
Rich link previews
Not listed
Not listed
Voice messages
SupportedA single audio file on an iMessage number is sent as a native voice message.
SupportedTo individuals and groups.
Contact cards
SupportedSend .vcf files as media. Inbound cards arrive as text/vcard media (since October 2026).
Not listed
Polls
Supported2 to 10 options, one-to-one or in iMessage groups. Votes arrive as events with a live tally.
Not listed
Chat backgrounds
Not listed
Not listed
Location sharing
Not listed
Not listed
iMessage apps
Not listed
Not listed
Live app cards
Not listed
Not listed
Sender name and photo
SupportedSet the first name, last name and photo shown beside the number's iMessages.
Not listed
FaceTime calls
Not listed
Not listedInbox video call button is marked coming soon; voice calls need the team to enable.
Delivery status
PartialiMessage sends report no delivery receipts; delivery is inferred once a read arrives.
Supportedsent, delivered, read, SMS_FALLBACK and failed via status webhook.
iMessage availability check
SupportedLookup endpoint checks whether any number can receive iMessage or WhatsApp.
SupportedCheck a number, or a whole group's participants, before sending.
Focus and Notify Anyway
Not listed
Not listed
Numbers and delivery
Managed lines
SupportediMessage numbers are provisioned through the API, with asynchronous setup. No Mac or device needed.
SupportedRequest a number and the team provisions it, typically in 3 to 5 business days.
Dedicated numbers
SupportedEach number belongs to your account. Docs say only US numbers can be provisioned now.
Supported$100/mo per line on Startups & SMB.
Shared numbers
Not listed
Not listed
Bring your own number
Not listed
SupportedPair your own Mac and its Apple ID number with the MessageBlue agent.
Line pooling
Not listedDocs suggest splitting recipients across several iMessage numbers by hand; no automatic pooling found.
SupportedAssigns the least-mapped number per contact and remaps contacts if a number is blocked.
SMS fallback
SupportediMessage numbers fall back to RCS or SMS automatically, at no message charge.
SupportedStatus event reports SMS_FALLBACK; not available for group creation.
RCS fallback
Supported
Not listedMarketing pages say SMS or RCS fallback; docs only describe SMS.
Outbound-first messaging
SupportedCold outbound allowed. Each iMessage number can start up to 50 new conversations a day.
SupportedStart chats with any iMessage-capable number; warns after 5 unanswered messages.
Calls on the iMessage number
SupportediMessage numbers also place and receive AI voice calls, or forward inbound calls.
Not listedInbox voice call button says to contact the team; number used is not stated.
Other channels
SMS
SupportedTwo-way SMS; MMS to US and Canada. Subscription accounts can text US numbers only.
PartialOnly as fallback; new chats need an iMessage-capable recipient.
RCS
PartialOnly as automatic fallback from iMessage numbers; not a channel you can pick.
Not listedMentioned only as a fallback on marketing pages.
WhatsApp
BetaBeta, enabled per account. Runs on an iMessage number, one attachment per message.
Not supportedNot offered
Telegram
Not supportedNot offered
Not supported
Slack
Not supportedNot offered as a channel. A Zapier app can forward messages to Slack.
Not supported
Email
Not supportedNot offered
Not supported
Phone calls
SupportedInbound and outbound AI voice calls with transcripts.
Not listedInbox voice call button says to contact the team; call type and number not stated.
Apple Messages for Business
Not listedDocs say iMessage numbers send over Apple Messages for Business, but no business chat product is documented.
Not supportedNot offered
Unified channel API
SupportedOne messages endpoint and event format for SMS, iMessage and WhatsApp, plus calls.
PartialOne API for iMessage and its SMS fallback only.
Developer tools
REST API
Supported
SupportedOpenAPI 3.1 spec published.
TypeScript SDK
Supported@getdial/sdk
Supportednpm messageblue (0.0.7), generated from the OpenAPI spec.
Python SDK
Supporteddial-sdk
Not supportedDocs say only TypeScript is published today; other languages on request.
Other SDKs
Not supportedSDK overview lists only Node and Python clients, plus agent framework packages.
Not supported
CLI
Supporteddial CLI, installed with a shell script or npx. Needs Node 22 or later.
Not listedThe API page mentions a CLI, but none is documented.
Webhooks
Supported
SupportedInbound and status URLs with retries and dead-lettering.
Signed webhooks
SupportedHMAC-SHA256 over timestamp and body, X-Dial-Signature header.
SupportedX-MB-Signature: HMAC-SHA256 over timestamp and raw body.
MCP server
SupportedRemote server with OAuth at getdial.ai/mcp, or local stdio through the CLI.
PartialDocumentation-only MCP server at docs.messageblue.ai/_mcp/server.
Open source
PartialThe Chat SDK adapter is MIT on GitHub. The platform is closed.
Not listed
Self-hosting
Not listedSelf-Hosted mode only means calls are driven by your own agent server; the platform itself is hosted.
SupportedEnterprise plan: your cloud (BYOC), VPC or on-prem
Local testing
Not listed
PartialBrowser test bench runs the no-code agent without sending an iMessage.
Custom channel providers
Not listed
Not listed
Event replay
PartialWebhooks retry up to 6 attempts. The live stream replays only about 2 minutes of missed events.
SupportedFailed and dead-lettered deliveries are kept and can be replayed.
OpenTelemetry
Not listed
Not listed
No-code integrations
SupportedZapier app with message and call triggers, and send, call and provision actions.
SupportedZapier, plus a no-code agent builder.
CRM integrations
Not listed
SupportedAgent connects to Salesforce, HubSpot and others; HubSpot inbox sync is private beta.
Built for AI agents
Agent framework
PartialHosted AI voice agent runs calls from a prompt. Messaging is send and receive only.
SupportedNo-code agent with model choice, prompt, knowledge, tools, memory and multi-step tasks.
Agent framework integrations
SupportedLangChain, Vercel AI SDK, CrewAI, AutoGen, Microsoft Agent Framework and a Vercel Chat SDK adapter.
Not listedSite says it works with LangChain and the Vercel AI SDK via webhooks; no official integration.
Streaming replies
Not listed
Not listed
Agent group chats
Not listed
Not listed
Human handoff
PartialThe voice agent can transfer a call to a person. No handoff for messaging.
SupportedTeam inbox for manual replies; pause the agent or block it per contact.
Audit logs
Not listed
SupportedOn the Business and Enterprise plans
Message history API
SupportedList and search messages, up to the 100 most recent per request.
SupportedConversation by phone number.
Plans and compliance
Free plan
Supported$5 of free credit, no card. Free accounts are capped at 5-minute calls and 2 concurrent calls.
Supported$0 when you bring your own number on your own Mac; every feature included.
Public pricing
Supported
SupportedFree and $100/mo listed; Business and Enterprise are contact sales.
No per-message fees
PartialMessages from a $250/month iMessage number are free. SMS on standard numbers is billed per message.
SupportedFlat $100/mo per line.
Uptime SLA
PartialUptime SLA listed for Enterprise only.
Supported99.9% SLA listed from the $100 plan; the API page says enterprise plans
Isolated infrastructure
Not listed
SupportedEnterprise plan: single-tenant or self-hosted stack
SOC 2 Type II
PartialSite says SOC 2 certified. Report type and a report are not published.
PartialEnterprise page claims audited SOC 2 Type II; pricing says SOC 2 ready; no report found.
GDPR
SupportedDPA covers GDPR and UK GDPR, with Standard Contractual Clauses.
Not listed

Checked on each provider's own site and docs on 2026-10-25. “Not listed” means the provider does not mention it.

Pricing

Dial

Pay-as-you-go starts with $5 of free credit. A standard number is $3 a month plus metered SMS and calls, an iMessage number is $250 a month with free messages, and Enterprise is custom.

Pricing model: per number plus metered usage; iMessage messages free on an iMessage number

Source

MessageBlue

Free when you bring your own number on your own Mac; a dedicated line is $100 a month on Startups & SMB, and Business and Enterprise are contact sales.

Pricing model: flat per line

Source

Which should you choose?

Choose Dial if you need threaded replies, contact cards, polls and sender name and photo.

Choose MessageBlue if you need group management, bring your own number, line pooling and self-hosting.

Frequently asked questions